People

Picture for alaybani.1

Rasmyah Alaybani
Ph.D. Candidate
6146884358
alaybani.1@osu.edu

Picture for anthony.288

Sean Anthony
Associate Professor
anthony.288@osu.edu
  • Early Islam & Late Antiquity
  • Islamic Thought
  • Classical Arabic Literature

Picture for atanassova.1

Geri Atanassova
Lecturer, Arabic Language
(614)2920028
atanassova.1@osu.edu

Picture for azimova.2

Kamola Azimova
Lecturer, Uzbek Language
azimova.2@osu.edu

Picture for bekcioglu.1

Bulent Bekcioglu
Lecturer, Turkish Language
6146885626
bekcioglu.1@osu.edu

Picture for bergelson.2

Valia Bergelson
Lecturer, Hebrew Language
bergelson.2@osu.edu

Picture for beyl.1

Tommy Beyl
Undergraduate Student Advisor
(614) 292-8485
beyl.1@osu.edu

Picture for biggerstaff.4

Michael Biggerstaff
Ph.D. Candidate
6146884358
biggerstaff.4@osu.edu
  • Hebrew Bible
  • Ancient Near East
  • Human-Divine Interaction

Picture for bond.210

David Bond
Lecturer, Arabic language
bond.210@osu.edu

Picture for rudavsky-brody.2

Miriam R. Bourgeois
Ph.D. Candidate
6146884358
bourgeois.31@osu.edu

Picture for brenner.108

Naomi Brenner
Associate Professor
614-292-8953
brenner.108@osu.edu
  • Modern Hebrew Literature and...
  • Literary Multilingualism and...
  • Modern Yiddish Literature and...

Picture for buzov.1

Snjezana Buzov
Affiliated Scholar
buzov.1@osu.edu
  • Ottoman Studies
  • Turkish
  • Manuscript Cultures

Picture for cavus.2

Yeliz Cavus
Ph.D. Candidate
(614)6885626
cavus.2@osu.edu
  • Late Ottoman and Early Republican...
  • History of Modern Central Asia
  • Intellectual and Cultural History

Picture for connelly.146

Coleman Connelly
Postdoctoral Fellow, Classics &...
connelly.146@osu.edu
  • Graeco-Arabic translation
  • Reception of the Greek and Latin...
  • Early Arabic science and philosophy

Picture for el-sherbini.1

Magda El-Sherbini
Professor/ Middle East and Islamic...
614-247-7456
el-sherbini.1@osu.edu

Picture for elaqad.2

Hisam Elaqad
Senior Lecturer; Arabic Language...
614-292-5039
elaqad.2@osu.edu

Picture for estiri.1

Ehsan Estiri
Ph.D. Candidate
estiri.1@osu.edu
  • Anthropology of the Middle East
  • Folklore Theory
  • The Middle East and the Media

Picture for frank.152

Daniel Frank
Associate Professor
614-292-7494
frank.152@osu.edu
  • Medieval Jewish history
  • Bible
  • Judeo-Arabic

Picture for golan.11

Galit Golan
Lecturer & Hebrew Language Program...
(614) 292-5378
golan.11@osu.edu

Picture for jorati.2

Hadi Jorati
Assistant Professor
(614)2920028
jorati.2@osu.edu
  • Islamic Iran and Persianate...
  • The Sciences in Islamic Traditions
  • Classical Arabic and Persian...

Picture for kamalisarvestani.1

Mehrak Kamalisarvestani
Lecturer & Persian Language...
(614) 247-8319
kamalisarvestani.1@osu.edu

Picture for kaye.73

Lynn Kaye
Assistant Professor
(614) 688-1552
kaye.73@osu.edu
  • Rabbinic Literature
  • Jewish law and thought
  • Literary/critical theory

Picture for labaki.5

Marie-Therese Labaki
Senior Lecturer & Arabic Language...
(614) 247-8319
labaki.5@osu.edu

Picture for liu.246

David Liu
Fiscal & Human Resources Associate
liu.246@osu.edu

Picture for liu.737

Morgan Liu
Associate Professor & Interim Chair
614-292-5619
liu.737@osu.edu
  • Ethnographic approaches to cities...
  • Anthropology of the state,...
  • Oil and energy industries in...

Picture for meier.3

Sam Arthur Meier
Professor
614-292-5569
meier.3@osu.edu
  • Hebrew Bible
  • Ancient Semitic languages &...
  • Comparative Semitic Linguistics

Picture for mezger.12

Christopher Mezger
M.A. Student

Picture for moseley.65

Geoffrey Moseley
Visiting Assistant Professor
(614) 292-9405
moseley.65@osu.edu

Picture for myers.863

Trisha Myers
Ph.D. Candidate
6146885626
myers.863@osu.edu
  • Early Modern Ottoman Empire
  • Islamic Advice Literature
  • Turkish Studies

Picture for nagar.5

Ila Nagar
Assistant Professor
614-247-6995
nagar.5@osu.edu
  • Sociolinguistics, ethnography
  • Language, gender, and sexuality
  • Hindi pedagogy

Picture for nowak.127

Kathy Nowak
M.A. Student

Picture for pace.45

Carl Pace
Lecturer
pace.45@osu.edu

Picture for richman.51

Rachel Richman
M.A. Student

Picture for schoon.2

Danielle Schoon
Lecturer
schoon.2@osu.edu

Picture for sellman.13

Johanna Sellman
Assistant Professor
sellman.13@osu.edu
  • Contemporary Arabic literature
  • Migration and Diaspora
  • Translation Studies

Picture for shahrani.1

Shahreena Shahrani
Lecturer, Arabic Language
shahrani.1@osu.edu

Picture for smith.12199

Jeremie Smith
Academic Program Coordinator
(614) 688-4182
smith.12199@osu.edu

Picture for snow.208

Kelly Snow
Fiscal & Human Resources Manager
(614)292-9039
snow.208@osu.edu

Picture for swartz.69

Michael D. Swartz
Professor
614-292-9967
swartz.69@osu.edu
  • Judaism & Late Antiquity
  • Rabbinic Studies
  • Magic & Ritual

Picture for tanenbaum.8

Adena Tanenbaum
Associate Professor
614-292-7304
tanenbaum.8@osu.edu
  • Philosophical themes in Hebrew...
  • Medieval Jewish intellectual...

Picture for vanzile.3

Matthew Van Zile
Ph.D. Student
vanzile.3@osu.edu
  • Rabbinic Exegesis
  • Hebrew Literature in Antiquity
  • Jewish Apocalyptic Traditions

Picture for webber.1

Sabra Webber
Professor Emeritus
614-292-3868
webber.1@osu.edu
  • Folkloristics (esp. Résistance...
  • Ethnography (esp. Social Capital)
  • Colonial/Contemporary North Africa

Picture for young.2278

Nathan Young
Ph.D. Candidate
young.2278@osu.edu
  • Modern Turkish
  • Turkish Folklore and Village Life
  • Turkic Central Asia

Picture for zeidan.1

Joseph Zeidan
Professor Emeritus
zeidan.1@osu.edu
  • Modern Arabic Literature
  • Cultural Studies
  • Feminist theory

Picture for zhao.397

Graham Zhao
Lecturer, Arabic language
zhao.397@buckeyemail.osu.edu